Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Ou rent' pu out caz don ?
1 mai 2008

Nothing can be perfect I guess.

At the moment, I feel the same as a lobster about to be dropped in a pot of boiled water. Why ? Because I'm in "KL" (Kuala-Lumpur) and that's exactly the feeling you have when you walk in the street. Holy shit it's warm here ! And of course, polluted, busy as hell, dirty and humid. A real paradise. Actually, it's a very interesting place. The Petronas Towers are huge, and the commercial centers are as wide as Belgium down here ! And thanks God for your kindness, you finally dropped a couple of Carrefour supermarkets on my way... few weeks before I go back to France but I don't mind. Better late than never as we say in french. I'll go there tomorrow and buy anything to eat with a french name or made by french people. I mean, I'd like to but I can't. My superannuation sent me an email saying they are late, which means I'll have to eat a plate of noodle a day and sleep with 25 travellers in my room for the next 3 weeks. Doesn't matter, I can deal with that.

I'm fine. Jenny is arriving very soon and I went to one of the 10th most beautiful island in the world last week. Yep, true. I was in Tioman. And if it is in the top 10, I wonder which other islands were in the contest ? Bagdad ? Uh, no it's not an island. Long Island ? Maybe but that's too small and there is not much to see apart a big... thing ! Tahiti then ? Na, that's far too beautiful too be on earth. At least the one where Tioman would be in a top 10. I'm not going any further, you understand what I'm saying.

Tioman is a "nice" place. But that's all. Ok, I spent hours on the toilet instead of walking around because of an unfresh Iced Milo and the weather was suck for 3-4 days, so my opinion can't be as good as that guy who decided one day to put Tioman in the top 10 (I still think you need to eat mushrooms and drink a lot of milkshakes monkey poo flavour for that).

Anyway, I'm slim again now. Thanks Milo. About Tioman, for sure, when you arrive and you see the colour of the sea, the welcoming smile on the local faces, the 2m long lizards on the walkpath and the monkeys showing their teeth as a warning of how much they are friendly, it looks nice. But give it a good look and you start to see that if the monkeys stay near that house over there, it's to "play" with the rubbish bins. If you walk along the beach, you'll see the dead coral and have to slalom between the garbage and finally (on the way to Tekek, the main village there) find out that you can't go any further -and must take the walkpath- because the whole waterfront is being digged to built up a "modern something in concrete". The beach must have been nice there... before !

Do you know how sad is it to go snorkelling and watch a turtle looking for food between a dead coral and an empty can of coca-cola ? I'll always remember that feeling. I heard all the Malaysian Islands are the same. I really hope the people who told me that are wrong... To start, I'll not go there 7 days ! Far too long and boring.

Mersing, the village from where you must take the ferry to Tioman was really nice place. The backpackers (Omar's) is run by a funny guy (Omar) coming for 5 minutes every 4 hours -without undo is motocycle helmet on his head- to ask for his 10RM (3,3 AU$). The place is clean, safe... and quiet because no one stays there at daytime. Internet cost only 1RM/hour (4 in KL) and a Swiss guy runs a pizza-pasta restaurant 2 minutes away where you can eat good food for nothing (pizza + pasta + drink = 23 RM / 6 AU$). And, as I can see in KL, the Malaysian are really nice to live with. I went to the Police station to certify a copy of my passport. 10 persons tried to help me. Finally one guy led me to an office where a smily officer introduced me to his familly and certified my passport. And they refused me to pay for it ! I paid in Singapore for the same thing and I'm sure I would have had to prostitute myself AND pay just to enter in a Police station in Indonesia...

All right guys, next news from KL again I think. Pictures from Tioman and Mersing soon as well. Have fun !

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Ou rent' pu out caz don ?
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité