Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Ou rent' pu out caz don ?
22 octobre 2010

Nepal, not to be done again...

That's it, Nepal done...
When I arrived first in Kathmandu, I didn't know that it was the second most polluted city in the world (after Mexico). Now I know and you also know.
For me Nepal was about fresh air, mountains, temples and nice people. Of course there is those things around here, but I must mention Kathmandu itself as well. Weird city, taste of anarchy, disgusting city... Don't sort your garbage anymore, it's useless as long as you see an entiere population dumping their shit everywhere like Nepali do. And the KTM valley look the same, the Terai  (south of Nepal) look the same, and soon the mountains will look the same (they are already but less). It look like Reunion Island 20 years ago when my grandma used to send me dumping the garbage in the nearest ravine.
After 4 days in KTM I was starting to become a sort of oenologue for pee and poo. I can tell if it's a cow, dog or man, and what millesime it is. Only with my nose of course, because I'm not tasting. And next time I'll go skiing, I'll be good at slaloming because I practised a lot here trying to avoid some green milky spit. Nepal is far above Marrakesh, Thailand or Laos speaking of dirtiness.
Then I went to Bandipur and for the first time, I could take a deep breathe watching some green stuff called trees and wlaking around without a bloody thousand of horns polluting my ears. Thanks God for that ! Bandipur is a piece of paradise... I did have some pleasure there. I was leaving it ! First time in Nepal... I must say that my day in Paris was great (theatre for the first time since a while, Louvre and Japanese restaurant with Pierre) and our stop-over in Abu Dhabi quite interesting. We (me and Jenny as usual) even had the chance to fly to KTM from there in first class (which is wasn't planned and was a big slap in my face when I got up in my confortable seat to take a Nepali cab 20 minutes after).
After Bandipur, we went to Pokhara with the intention of going to trek. For me Pokhara looks the same as St Gilles (Reunion Is.) in a mountain version. It's a strange feeling. The atmosphere is similar, the vegetation and the food are also similar. To be silly I'm also gonna say : and after 7pm, there is no chance to see a local sobre.
A couple of day there and it was time for us to wear our shoes and try to reach the Annapurna Base Camp. 8 days shitting my ass off ! With my 15 kilos extra on my Apollon body and 8 on my back, I was pretty much doing the same job as a porter without be paid for it. That's a shame ! Landscapes were nice but I spent more times looking at my shoes and asking my feet why they don't want to go faster.
But everything has a end and a good pizza was waiting for us once we've been back in Pokhara. We stayed there few days spending most of the time eating and reading... Then we tried to go rafting for 2 days. And for this we had the garanty that "everything will be provided". I know now that means "vaseline is provided, get your ass ready". As you guessed, rafting wasn't good. And I don't say that because I fell over the raft... When we arrived at our base camp, we could actually fish in the tent we were supposed to sleep, and we are still waiting the minibus supposed to drive us to Narayangarh after the trip. At least the staff was nice. But this isn't the issue in Nepal. People are great... It's hard to find nicer than them, but those people needs rules and learn how to behave in certain situation. Specially with tourist.

We are now in Darjeeling (that's another story) in India. I don't expect from it to be better. We know it might be worse. But so far, Nepal makes me loving Laos more than ever !

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
C
I re-found your blog, cher amigo!<br /> I loved it to have been updated with beautiful fotos of some of your recent trips. Nearly no country left 4 u to travel in the Indian/Pacific region!<br /> Where are you hanging around right now?<br /> I hate that i lost your track a little and that I could not manage to see you somewhere.<br /> <br /> But nonetheless I wish you the best for upcoming 2011. I hope for a reunion in 2011. Until then keep your curiousity and have fun! Hello to jen.<br /> <br /> love<br /> Chris<br /> <br /> ps: Oh if you read this make sure you leave a massage on my mobile with a present number my friend.
M
Ben alors et les trips ????<br /> bisous!!!!!!!!
Ou rent' pu out caz don ?
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité